2020 Halloween Gala

HALLOWEEN IS ON!
The pandemic is canceling events all around the world, but even COVID-19 can’t stop us! GET READY TO SHAKE, RATTLE & ROLL! The National Storytelling Network is hosting another Virtual Party:

Thank you to our Gala sponsors!

Weekend Packages
We hope you will join us for the whole weekend! Packages will get your entire household into every performance, the workshop, the slam, and special events like the costume contest, swap, and social times! Everyone knows a storyteller makes Halloween better – Imagine what will happen when we join together! Note that most events are intended for adults.

Pricing
We know that many people are struggling financially right now. NSN wants to support all storytellers and story listeners, regardless of current financial situation. Thus, we are making all events Pay-What-You-Can. We have suggested ticket prices for the weekend long package, and for individual events, but no one will be turned away for lack of funds. When you register, you will decide how much to pay.

NSN Member Admission
Current NSN members receive discounts on all NSN events. The suggested ticket price for the entire weekend full of performances is $75.00.
$75
General Admission
Non-NSN members are encouraged to attend. The suggested ticket price for the entire weekend full of performances is $100.00.
$100

Schedule of Events (all times listed in Central U.S. Time)

Friday, October 30th 
6:00pm CDT – ‘Haunted’ Story Slam: Share your Tell-Tale Heart 

Americas
7:00 PM Eastern | 6:00 PM Central | 5:00 PM Mountain | 4:00 PM Pacific |
8:00 PM Rio de Janeiro

Europe
11:00 PM London | 12:00 AM (Oct. 31) Berlin | 2:00 AM (Oct. 31) Moscow

Asia
3:00 AM (Oct. 31) Dubai | 4:30 AM (Oct. 31) Mumbai | 7:00 AM (Oct. 31) Singapore & Beijing | 8:00 AM (Oct. 31) Tokyo

Oceania
10:00 AM (Oct. 31) Sydney | 12:00 PM (Oct. 31) Auckland

UTC
11:00 PM

Do you have a moment of fear that has haunted you for years? Ever wet your pants at a haunted house? Do you feel guilt from acting on your biases? Twelve storytellers, chosen at random, will confess their personal 5-minute story on the theme “Haunted.” The audience decides the winners. First prize: $100. Second Prize: $50. Third Prize: $25. To enter the slam, click here.
Hosted by:

Javier Morillo is storyteller, writer, activist, podcaster and political commentator based in Minnesota. He is one of the regular hosts of the Moth Story Slam there and his stories have been featured on “The Moth Radio Hour” and The Moth Podcast. He’s had two successful solo shows in the Minnesota Fringe Festival, one of which also ran in the juried NYC Fringe. @javimorillo

Included with full weekend registration. 
This event is best for ages 18+

NSN Member Admission      $10
General Admission      $15

8:00pm CDT – Storied Costume Contest

Americas
9:00 PM Eastern | 8:00 PM Central | 7:00 PM Mountain | 6:00 PM Pacific |
10:00 PM Rio de Janeiro

Europe
11:00 PM London | 12:00 AM (Oct. 31) Berlin | 2:00 AM (Oct. 31) Moscow

Asia
5:00 AM (Oct. 31) Dubai | 6:30 AM (Oct. 31) Mumbai | 9:00 AM (Oct. 31) Singapore & Beijing | 10:00 AM (Oct. 31) Tokyo

Oceania
12:00 PM (Oct. 31) Sydney | 2:00 PM (Oct. 31) Auckland

UTC
1:00 AM (Oct. 31)

When storytellers gather for Halloween, we don’t just don costumes – we bring them to life with stories! Who tells the best 30-60 second story in character or about their costume? Who reused common household items in the most creative way? You decide! Come play as only storytellers can!
Included with full-weekend registration
This event is best for ages 18+

10:00pm CDT – Come as (Whatever) You Are: Party at the Werewolf Café

Americas
11:00 PM Eastern | 10:00 PM Central | 9:00 PM Mountain |
8:00 PM Pacific | 12:00 AM (10/31) Rio de Janeiro

Europe
3:00 AM (Oct. 31) London | 4:00 AM (Oct. 31) Berlin | 6:00 AM (Oct. 31) Moscow

Asia
7:00 AM (Oct. 31) Dubai | 8:30 AM (Oct. 31) Mumbai | 11:00 AM (Oct. 31) Singapore & Beijing | 12:00 PM (Oct. 31) Tokyo

Oceania
2:00 PM (Oct. 31) Sydney | 4:00 PM (Oct. 31) Auckland

UTC
3:00 AM (Oct. 31)

Howl with glee with a coven of fellow revelers in this late-night social gathering.
Included with full weekend or slam registration.  
This event is best for ages 18+


Saturday, October 31st – Halloween  
9:00am CDT – Morning Minglings at the Spirit Café

Americas
10:00 AM Eastern | 9:00 AM Central | 8:00 AM Mountain |
7:00 AM Pacific | 11:00 AM Rio de Janeiro

Europe
2:00 PM London | 3:00 PM Berlin | 5:00 PM Moscow

Asia
6:00 PM Dubai | 7:30 PM Mumbai | 10:00 PM Singapore & Beijing |
11:00 PM Tokyo

Oceania
1:00 AM Sydney | 3:00 AM Auckland

UTC
2:00 PM

Early risers, join kindred souls in this social gathering.
Included with full weekend registration. 
This event is best for ages 18+

Noon Workshop: Crafting Original Ghost Stories 
with Cynthia Rintye

Americas
1:00 PM Eastern | 12:00 PM Central | 11:00 AM Mountain |
10:00 AM Pacific | 2:00 PM Rio de Janeiro

Europe
5:00 PM London | 6:00 PM Berlin | 8:00 PM Moscow

Asia
9:00 PM Dubai | 10:30 PM Mumbai | 1:00 AM (Nov. 1) Singapore &
Beijing | 2:00 AM (Nov. 1) Tokyo

Oceania
4:00 AM (Nov. 1) Sydney | 6:00 AM (Nov. 1) Auckland

UTC
5:00 PM

Most storytellers seem to tell from the same small collection of scary stories. Wouldn’t it be great to have the tools to create something different? Learn the art of crafting unique, compelling, spooky narratives in this interactive and practical workshop. The workshop will feature a discussion about various forms of paranormal phenomena, how to turn a paranormal encounter into a great story, and numerous sources for scary story ideas. 
Workshop Leader:

Cynthia Rintye became a paranormal expert during her 17 years of discovering, telling, and writing spooky stories for the Lawrenceville Ghost Tours, which became the most popular ghost tour in the Atlanta area under her direction.  A long-time performer, Cynthia has appeared in plays, musicals, and sketch comedy and as Queen Catherine Howard at the Georgia Renaissance Festival. Additional storytelling credits include the National Storytelling Summit, Red Clay Storytelling Festival, Stone Soup Storytelling, Peach State Storytelling Festival, Classic City Festival, and Spirits & Spirits: Ghost Stories for Adults. Cynthia’s first spoken-word album, Veil of Time: Ghost Stories from Atlanta, received a 2018 Storytelling World Award Honor. cynthiarintye.com

Included with full weekend registration. 
This event is best for ages 18+

NSN Member Admission      $20

General Admission      $30
3:00pm CDT – ‘Little Shivers’ Performance 

Americas
4:00 PM Eastern | 3:00 PM Central | 2:00 PM Mountain |
1:00 PM Pacific | 5:00 PM Rio de Janeiro

Europe
8:00 PM London | 9:00 PM Berlin | 11:00 PM Moscow

Asia
12:00 AM (Nov. 1) Dubai | 1:30 AM (Nov. 1) Mumbai | 4:00 AM (Nov. 1) Singapore & Beijing | 5:00 AM (Nov. 1) Tokyo

Oceania
7:00 AM (Nov. 1) Sydney | 9:00 AM (Nov. 1) Auckland

UTC
8:00 PM

Your kids want scary stories, but you don’t want to be searching for witches in the closet? We understand! Our family-friendly programs will start out with special stories for the littlest listeners and get progressively scarrier to the shudder-worthy darker tales. In this program, we’ll sing about skeletons and bugs, then snuggle in for stories of a grave robber, a half-boy, and brave dog. We’ll even meet a String Figure Spirit!

Performers

Click on name to expand for bio

Stephen Gashler, two-times winner of the Timpanogos Hauntings contest, is pure evil. Actually, he’s only 80% evil and 20% ridiculous. Notwithstanding, a mere glance of his eyes makes little kids cry.
stephengashler.com

Anne Glover is a Canadian award-winning performer. Her stories are illustrated by string figures along with vocal effects. Anne has toured Canada, the US, Romania, Ireland, Taiwan, Chile, Argentina, and Japan for as many as 45,000 people in a year.
anneglover.ca

Roger Jenkins is a Singaporean who
became a teller via teaching/theatre. He received the Best Storyteller Award (Kanoon Festival). He founded Singapore’s 398.2 Storytelling Festival and co-founded the Federation of Asian Storytellers.
rogerjenkins.com.sg

Daniel A. Kelin II is an artist, educator,
scholar, author, playwright, and, most
recently, a short film-maker who lives in Hawaii and (usually) travels a great deal.
DanielAKelin.com

Jeeva Raghunath has been a professional storyteller/author since 1997. She pioneered the storytelling
movement in Tamilnadu, India.
Meanwhile, she authored 12 books and
translated over 65 books from English to Tamil.
jeevaraghunath.com

For the last thirty-three years, Donna
Washington has performed and taught nationally and internationally. She loves scary stories best. Donna lives in Durham, NC with her husband and two cats.
donnawashington.com

Liz Weir is an Irish storyteller with an
international reputation. She was the first winner of the International Story Bridge Award from the National Storytelling Network, USA.
lizweir.net

Included with full weekend registration.
This event is best for families.

NSN Member Admission      $10

General Admission      $15

7:00pm CDT – ‘Night Terrors’ Adult Show

Americas
8:00 PM Eastern | 7:00 PM Central | 6:00 PM Mountain |
5:00 PM Pacific | 9:00 PM Rio de Janeiro

Europe
12:00 AM (Nov. 1) London | 1:00 AM (Nov. 1) Berlin | 3:00 AM (Nov. 1) Moscow

Asia
4:00 AM (Nov. 1) Dubai | 5:30 AM (Nov. 1) Mumbai | 8:00 AM (Nov. 1) Singapore & Beijing | 9:00 AM (Nov. 1) Tokyo

Oceania
11:00 AM (Nov. 1) Sydney | 1:00 PM (Nov. 1) Auckland

UTC
12:00 AM (Nov. 1)

Halloween is the crack in the egg of time where the spirits come to join us. Meet the Bog Woman, a jealous death grip, Poe’s ‘Tell Tale Heart’ (in sign language), a ghoul marriage, & twisted deals with the Devil. No, this is not for the timid. These tales aim to get under your skin, and play with your head. 
NSN has gathered some of the best ghost story tellers from around the underworld (Ireland, Japan, Hawaii, & USA) for a nail-biting, hand-shaking, “what was that sound?” kind of night. 

Performers

Click on name to expand for bio

A native of Osaka, and the recipient of
the 2017 NSN’s Circle of Excellence Award, Motoko has shared Asian
folktales and original stories across the U.S. and in China, Japan, Senegal, and
the U.A.E.
https://motoko.folktales.net/

Cooper Braun was born and bred in
Boulder, Colorado. He found a love for
storytelling from records and cassette
tapes. Drawn to performance and theater since youth, Cooper started as an actor and has been working as a professional theater technician.
facebook.com/storieswithspirit

Ed Chevy is recognized as a veteran in
the field of Deaf Education and
Entertainment. He brings access to sign language rock songs, storytelling, and comedy. He is a prolific beacon in the Deaf and Hard of Hearing world.
themanfromasl.com

Lyn Ford’s work has taken her across the country, beyond its borders, and throughout the Zoomiverse. Lyn loves to share “Spookers & Haints” from her Affrilachian heritage and her own original ideas.
storytellerlynford.com

Colin Urwin is a storyteller and singer-songwriter who lives on a small hill farm near Glenarm. His repertoire includes traditional Irish and Scottish folk tales, many written in a traditional style, and always set in his beloved Glens of Antrim.
goastories.org/portfolio/colin-urwin/

Included with full weekend registration. 
This event is best for ages 18+

NSN Member Admission      $10

General Admission      $15
9:00pm CDT – Melt Down at the Werewolf Café

Americas
10:00 PM Eastern | 9:00 PM Central | 8:00 PM Mountain |
7:00 PM Pacific | 11:00 PM Rio de Janeiro

Europe
2:00 AM (Nov. 1) London | 3:00 AM (Nov. 1) Berlin | 5:00 AM (Nov. 1) Moscow

Asia
6:00 AM (Nov. 1) Dubai | 7:30 AM (Nov. 1) Mumbai | 10:00 AM (Nov. 1) Singapore & Beijing | 11:00 AM (Nov. 1) Tokyo

Oceania
1:00 PM (Nov. 1) Sydney | 3:00 PM (Nov. 1) Auckland

UTC
2:00 AM (Nov. 1)

Decompress (or decompose) with fellow survivors in this late-night social gathering. 
Included with full weekend registration. 
This event is best for ages 18+


NOTICE OF TIME CHANGE

Daylight Saving Time (DST) in most of the United States ends at 2:00 AM local time on November 1st. Please note that clocks are moved back from 2:00 AM to 1:00 AM. All times listed in the events below are listed in Central Standard Time (CST) with equivalent times listed for other time zones worldwide.

Sunday, November 1st – All Saints Day
1:00pm CST – ‘Ghouls & Graves’ Story Swap

Americas
2:00 PM Eastern | 1:00 PM Central | 12:00 PM Mountain |
11:00 AM Pacific | 4:00 PM Rio de Janeiro

Europe
7:00 PM London | 8:00 PM Berlin | 10:00 PM Moscow

Asia
11:00 PM Dubai | 12:30 AM (Nov. 2) Mumbai | 3:00 AM (Nov. 2) Singapore & Beijing | 4:00 AM (Nov. 2) Tokyo

Oceania
6:00 AM (Nov. 2) Sydney | 8:00 AM (Nov. 2) Auckland

UTC
7:00 PM

Bring your own spooky tale (up to 7 minutes) to share with Saints & Sinners.
Included with full weekend registration. 
This event is best for ages 18+

3:00pm CST – ‘Little Pumpkin’ Performance

Americas
4:00 PM Eastern | 3:00 PM Central | 2:00 PM Mountain |
1:00 PM Pacific | 6:00 PM Rio de Janeiro

Europe
9:00 PM London | 10:00 PM Berlin | 12:00 AM (Nov. 2) Moscow

Asia
1:00 AM (Nov. 2) Dubai | 2:30 AM (Nov. 2) Mumbai | 5:00 AM (Nov. 2) Singapore & Beijing | 6:00 AM (Nov. 2) Tokyo

Oceania
8:00 AM (Nov. 2) Sydney | 10:00 AM (Nov. 2) Auckland

UTC
9:00 PM

These “Boo tales with a grin” are for little spooks & the ghosts who love them. Boo riddles for younger kids lead to a long necked ghost. Stranger tales bring older children deeper in the deep, dark folktale woods: trolls under the bridge, one old lady fooling Death, and another who bites children. Beware of the Green Hand! Kids love delicious tension (especially when it ends in a grin). 

Performers

Click on name to expand for bio

Karin Amano trained in Japanese theatre before studying educational theatre at NYU. In NY and FL, she performed in numerous plays. She was a full-time actor/storyteller at Walt Disney World for 11 years.
JapaneseStoryteller.com

Joel ben Izzy has gathered stories, led
workshops, and consulted on story projects in 36 countries since 1983. He’s
recorded six award-winning CDs and
published The Beggar King and the Secret of Happiness as well as Dreidels
on the Brain.
Storypage.com

Elizabeth Dodds has brought stories to
life at Utah’s Biggest Liar contests,
Hauntings contests, and the Weber State University Storytelling Festival. She especially enjoys telling children’s stories at libraries and schools.
doddselizabeth2.wixsite.com/storytelling

Daniel A. Kelin II is an artist, educator,
scholar, author, playwright, and, most
recently, a short film-maker who lives in Hawaii and (usually) travels a great deal.
DanielAKelin.com

Since 1989, Mary Jo Maichack has been
a full-time storyteller, musician and
teaching artist, and Massachusetts
State Liaison to NSN. She’s performed
over 4,000 shows from San Francisco to Vienna, Austria.
MaryJoMaichack.com

A bilingual storyteller, Lillian Rodrigues-Pang tells stories to audiences of all ages for fun, education, personal, and community acceptance/awareness. Combining stories with song, rhyme, props, percussion, actions, and language,
Lillian enthralls the audience with her full-bodied, theatrical performance.
storytellersnsw.org.au/lillian-
rodriguespang

Included with full weekend registration. 
This event is best for families.

NSN Member Admission      $10

General Admission      $15
7:00pm CST – ‘The Howling’ Adult Show

Americas
8:00 PM Eastern | 7:00 PM Central | 6:00 PM Mountain |
5:00 PM Pacific | 10:00 PM Rio de Janeiro

Europe
1:00 AM (Nov. 2) London | 2:00 AM (Nov. 2) Berlin | 4:00 AM (Nov. 2) Moscow

Asia
5:00 AM (Nov. 2) Dubai | 6:30 AM (Nov. 2) Mumbai | 9:00 AM (Nov. 2) Singapore & Beijing | 10:00 AM (Nov. 2) Tokyo

Oceania
12:00 PM (Nov. 2) Sydney | 2:00 PM (Nov. 2) Auckland

UTC
1:00 AM (Nov. 2)

This show is not for the weak-of-heart. In several of these All Saint’s Day tales, we hear of ways the Living make peace with the Dead (or fail to do so). Turn out the lights, light a candle, and settle in for tales of searching for a lost head, exorcism, a bleeding grave, a crreeeeking rocking chair, and an insanely jealous man. Let’s hope we don’t all fall down dead from these chilling and touching tales of the supernatural kind.

Performers

Click on name to expand for bio

Uncle Gery started his storytelling
journey in 1991. Since being a winner in
the National Storytelling Competition in Indonesia, he has attended hundreds of storytelling performances. He now writes and creates stories for radio and TV.
instagram.com/paman_gery/

Adam Booth’s stories blend traditional
mountain folklore, music, & awareness of contemporary Appalachia. He is a
member of the Recording Academy & is the first Shepherd University Storyteller-In-Residence.
adam-booth.com

Diane Ferlatte has toured and performed internationally many times over and almost every state in the United States.
dianeferlatte.com

Lyn Ford’s work has taken her across the country, beyond its borders, and
throughout the Zoomiverse. Lyn loves to share “Spookers & Haints” from her
Affrilachian heritage and her own original ideas.
storytellerlynford.com

Included with full weekend registration. 
This Event is Best for Ages 18+

Long ago on one dark and stormy night, Ingrid Nixon was struck by a bolt of lightning and has been wandering the world telling stories ever since. She
comes to us from the wilds of Alaska.
ingridnixon.com

Valentina Ortiz is a Mexican bilingual
storyteller and musician as well as a
writer. She enjoys sharing the ancient
indigenous word as much as present-day stories.
valentinastoryteller.com

Erik Pearson has been immersed in music of all kinds since he was a child in Easton, Pennsylvania.
erikpearson.net

Liz Weir is an Irish storyteller with an
international reputation. She was the first winner of the International Story Bridge Award from the National Storytelling Network, USA.

NSN Member Admission      $10

General Admission      $15

Thank you to our Gala sponsors!

Scroll to Top