2019 Recipients of NSN ORACLE Awards

NSN is proud to annually recognize individuals and organizations for their outstanding contributions to storytelling. Since their inception in 1995, the ORACLE Awards have been presented by the National Storytelling Network to those who have excelled in their art or made significant contributions to storytelling, NSN or its members.

The ORACLE Awards will be presented on Friday night, July 26, 7-8:30 pm PDT at the annual National Storytelling Summit, held this year in Fremont, CA. Please visit our web site for a full schedule of Summit activities.

Please join me in congratulating the winners of the 2019 ORACLE Awards.

Circle of Excellence Award

Presented to artists who are recognized nationally by their peers to be master storytellers who set the standards for excellence and have demonstrated, over a significant period of time, a commitment and dedication to the art of storytelling.

Nancy Donoval, St. Paul, MN

Diane Edgecomb, Boston, MA

Lifetime Achievement Award

Presented to individuals in the storytelling community who have dedicated their lives to the art form of storytelling and who have demonstrated meritorious service to the National Storytelling Network, as well as to the community of storytellers at large. The individuals who are awarded are those who have expanded public awareness of the art of storytelling by virtue of their preservation of traditional art forms or the significant originality of their body of work.

Margaret Read MacDonald, Des Moines, WA


International StoryBridge Award

Recognizes the exemplary work, dedication, and spirit of those individuals or groups that promote the art of storytelling in their own country or promote the building of bridges between their country and other countries through the use of storytelling and/or storytelling events.

Cathryn Fairlee, Cotati, CA

Priscilla Howe, Lawrence, KS


Talking Leaves

Presented to those members of our community who have made outstanding contributions to the literary body of storytelling as authors, editors or collectors.

Vaunda Micheaux Nelson, Rio Rancho, NM


Regional Excellence

Recognizes the creativity, professional integrity, and artistic contributions of tellers who have greatly enriched the storytelling culture of their region.

Richard Rousseau, Saint Paul, MN (North Central)


Regional Service and Leadership Awards

Presented to individuals or organizations that have made a significant contribution to their local or regional storytelling community and/or have used storytelling to make a significant contribution to the larger community in which they live.

North East Region – Hope Lewis, Seal Cove, ME

North Central Region – Dorothy Cleveland, Oakdale, MN

Southeast Region – Robin Schulte, Oviedo, FL

South Central Region – Perrin Stifel, Webster Groves, MO

Pacific Region – Bill Roberson, Sonora, CA

Pacific Region – Rebecca Hom, Walla Walla, WA



Contact the National Storytelling Network

c/o Woodneath Library
8900 N.E. Flintlock Road
Kansas City, MO 64157
Telephone: (800) 525-4514
Website: https://storynet.org

Find us on social media!

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/National-Storytelling-Network-217381542906/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/NSNStorytellers
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/nationalstorytellingnetwork
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCBedmDdaRi9N-4Hs-QeYNqw

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top