J.J. Reneaux Emerging Artist Award

The J. J. Reneaux Emerging Artist Award provides $1,500 to a storyteller of major and unique performing talent who has not yet received wide public recognition. Please note that this is not primarily an achievement award: candidates must have a well-considered need and desire to improve their storytelling skills and must present a convincing plan for how they will use the grant funds for artistic development.

Criteria for recipients:

  1. You should not yet have received national public recognition (such as being featured at major festivals or theaters).
  2. Your professional storytelling career should be at an early stage, though you should already show a distinctive voice and style.
  3. Your current performances should reflect exceptional talent and potential for development.
  4. You should have a clear awareness of how you need to improve your skills and a plan for using the award funds to accomplish this.
  5. You should intend eventually to gain a significant part of your annual income from professional storytelling performance.

What the award will and will not fund:

The award may be used only to pay for activities that will advance your storytelling skills: for instance, workshops, specific courses of study, coaching or work with a director, mentoring by senior tellers, relevant conference attendance, and other forms of training.

Awards cannot be applied to research, marketing, promotional materials, recordings, props, costumes, etc.

Application Process

CLOSED: All applications and supporting materials were required to be submitted no later than midnight (CT) September 13, 2021. The application period is now closed.

Past Recipients of the J.J. Reneaux Emerging Artist Award

2022 Eva Abram

2020 April Armstrong
Sufian Zhemukhov

2018 Baeletsi Tsatsi
Cooper Braun

2016 Carolina Quiroga-Stultz

2014 Sally Perkins

2012 Robin Bady

2010 Kirk Waller

2008 Regi Carpenter

2006 Tim Ereneta

2005 Alton Chung

Scroll to Top